Tour de Vélo

Our class was told to film ourselves and our lives for a “day in the life” or “how to be me” sort of small video. Twenty-four hours to edit down into a 1 minute video was too lofty for me. I had a hard enough time editing my daily commute to 2 minutes without understating it’s importance to my routine. I could easily have shown how monotonous my days are while in school. Seven days a week I wake up, go to the studio, find all my meals in a 4 block radius. Sometime between 10p – 2a I ride home, do more homework, sleep, repeat. Rarely do I engage with anyone outside the studio.

When I did try to edit all the film I realized how important the role of my commute is, which is why I chose to feature it specifically. I spend at the very least an hour on my bike a day and see some of the most amazing and fascinating things I would have otherwise missed. Occasionally I mix it up, but often I ride the same streets everyday and see something I never noticed before.

I chose Yann Tiersen’s “La Redecouverte” from the Amélie soundtrack. I felt it helped me keep the video short and added an element of wit. You can decide for yourself.

Thanks Eric and Bethany for letting me borrow your sports camera!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Tour de Vélo

  1. bcasperite says:

    You are very welcome! The video turned out great. You have quite a treacherous journey to school each day.

Leave a Reply

