Urban Gardening

Somehow gardening follows me around. I’m currently working on two projects involving growing in the city. One is our studio project, my group is involved with making urban gardening go vertical. We want to make it easier for urban dwellers with limited space or a concrete backyard to have their own Victory Garden, an increasingly popular revival. To learn more about the project and classmates projects, check out FarmPhilly.com.

I’m the president of our school’s sustainability initiative, Remedy, which strives for smarter lifestyles on campus. We’re working on building a roof top garden on one of our school buildings, the Gershman Y. Although we’re currently fighting through the bureaucratic system, we have a lot of support from the school. I think we all thought we’d be up and growing by now but now we’re hoping to be open by next fall.

future location of greenhouse

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Urban Gardening

  1. […] Somehow gardening follows me around. I’m currently working on two projects involving growing in the city. One is our studio project, my group is involved with making urban gardening go vertical. We want to make it easier for urban … »Read More […]

  2. Hello KIKI Brown bear,
    It’s nice to come across a blog such as yours and read about the advances being done to improve the local food security issue within the community.

    I’ve been working with the urban agriculture and food security challenges for over ten years and counting… perhaps we can exchange thoughts and ideas as my focus for development into this sector is from the context of tools and techniques appropriate for converting walls, rooftops, fences and other city-scapes into manageable plant production sites. (low input, high output)
    I’m in the process of initiating a community shared agriculture program and strategy within the neighborhood framework.
    Hence, the garden crafting theme as a means for introducing innovation into a non-traditional agriculture zone, with prospects for year-round benefit.

    I enjoy hearing about school projects and gorilla gardening projects that instill life into urban to remote dead zones.

    I wish you great advances with your gardening efforts,
    see ya,
    biorope mike

    • Kiki Brown says:

      Thanks so much for your interest. I know a lot of people who are interested. Currently I’m also involved in a project, planting a roof garden on the roof of the Gershman Y. I would love to talk with you more about it sometime.

Leave a Reply

