The Joy of the Season

My favorite part of the season is having class in the grass in a park when the weather is nice. This semester it only happened once. I really can’t believe how often it rains in Philly. It really drives me nuts. When it finally gets nice, it will be unbearably hot. But thats aside the point.

I love going to the park to conduct class. We all just lay out in the sun, we’re all relaxed. This is when education can really happen, at least for me. Having class outside, you can’t do the traditional lecture but you can lead a conversation about life and education (what ever you want) when everyone is receptive.

Maybe it doesn’t work for everyone, but I love it. I feel like I personally learned more in the three hours we sat in Valley Forge discussing someone’s what-am-I-going-to-do-with-my-life crisis than I did in all of my classes all semester. So what we didn’t talk about Franco or furniture or anything related to our class. We learned a little about life and what to look forward to. We learned about our selves through conversations with our classmates.

 

Valley Forge

I grabbed this photo from flickr here.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

