Stacker Nightstand/Side Table

Stacker 1:4 Scale Model During winter break I began designing a stackable nightstand or side table for small spaces and frequent movers. I want the legs to be sturdy but easily removable if the user was moving it would take up less space. I realized however, people rarely take their furniture apart once it’s together. So that is no longer a priority, but still on my mind. The original design also had a back “pocket” meant for cable management. I also took that out in the more recent redesigns to make the whole piece more minimal and require less material. I think the resulting product is very elegant. I’m very open to critique.

As it stands now, the table would be made of 3/8″ with 3/4″ Birch Ply legs. The model is Birch Ply. I love the way the layers look on the drawer face. All my early sketches and renderings were of various woods and Plyboo. The legs still need to be extend wider for more stability.

Stacker (first design), Plyboo and brushed steel

Stacker (first design), Plyboo and brushed steel

Deconstructed for moving

Deconstructed for moving

Close up of the outlet compartment in the back

Close up of the outlet compartment in the back

Newer Stacker design

Newer Stacker design

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

